ANYTIME GUP-SHUPS

Change Begins At Home

on February 26, 2016

This advertisement by Ariel is surely a great initiative of telling the society that a man and a woman are equal in every respect and household responsibilities for both are equal too. When I read the statistics of how our country thinks a women or a girl should behave, its horrific but unfortunately true till today.

Thank god my childhood and now my married life both are different ! Or I say we as children have learnt from our parents that how a beautiful home works. Both my parents were working , so there always used to be paucity of time of how to manage the job , the kids and household work. I must say my parents were super humans. How beautifully they had divided the household work and taken care of me and my younger brother is a wonderful example of how couples should be.

I am lucky to have a husband like my father. I have not known cooking till I got married and I don’t know laundry till now. The urge to learn new dishes have made me a better cook than my husband but he is still better in managing laundry. So just like my parents, both of us are working too and we too have very limited time in finishing this household work. So to finish up quickly and spend quality time with each other , I cook and he does the home laundry. He knows how to sort the cloths, which cloths to be washed together and what not to be washed together and bla bla bla everything related to laundry. Sometimes I feel may be washing machine is his first love ;-). Well I love the fact that he takes care of my cloths so well but the only disappointment comes when he takes such a good care of my cloths that I do not get a reason to shop more often. A shopaholic girl like me will understand this feeling better. Jokes apart ! Whenever I tell our story of how we save on time to my friends or relatives, most of them are in a state ofshock ! They don’t believe me or say I am making up stuff.

People should understand that gone are those days when women used to be at home doing all household chores . They work too.  Then it surely becomes a man’s responsibility to share the household chores with her. It’s not non-manly to do laundry, it about an understanding husband who helps his wife with her work. So my only advice to the married men will be : help your wife, show some love and extra love will come your way for sure !  It’s time to change and not let the prejudices pass on to our next generation.

I am joining the Ariel #ShareTheLoad campaign at BlogAdda and blogging about the prejudice related to household chores being passed on to the next generation.

Leave a Reply

